Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • atomiser
    • Nov 2004

weird problem...

well, first of all - hello! first post and all! got a bit of a strange one ... first off, heres the equipment:

amd athlon xp 2500+
    abit nsf7 v2.0
    512 megs of 3200ddr ram
    maxtor 80 gb sata
    samsung ts-h552b (firmware ts05)

then the media:

datawrite 4.7gb 8x grey tops

then the software:

windows xp pro sp1
    dvdshrink 3.2
    ahead nero 6 ultra
    alcohol 120%
    virtual cd 5.0

and now the problem:

dvd shrink works perfectly (SO impressed! ) ... using it to create iso images ... if mounted using either alcohol120% or vcd5.0 they work fine. if i try to burn them using nero 6 or alcohol120% then no programs report any errors whatsoever. the disc even plays fine ... right up untill almost the exact same failure point in each film... so far ive had about 10-15 coasters!

im thinking its probably the media...but im new to the whole dvd thing so anything else to try before i shell out on some different coasters to try?!

(p.s. it did do some rather strange things on data dvd's too ... small amounts of data appear to be ok, but if you get anywhere near filling the disc...it doesnt like it one bit! nero can read the disc [albeit after hanging for a while] but windows doesnt want to know! also, the cd-rw side of things appears to work flawlessly! tearing my hear out!)

cheers, andy.
    Last edited by atomiser; 22 Nov 2004, 10:43 PM.
  • sfheath
    Lord of Digital Video
    Lord of Digital Video
    • Sep 2003

sounds like you may have answered your own problem!
    media is easily the most prolific bugbear to this field. check out your burner and brand of media compatibility in http://www.videohelp.com/dvdplayers to begin with methinks!
    poorer quality media do get a bit frail at the outside edge which is the end of the recording. RW's tend to have a better coating I think.
    This isn't a learning curve ... this is b****y mountaineering!

Comment

• atomiser