X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • john_gregg
    • Aug 2002

messed-up frames on DV capture

Hi all.

I'm new to the DV transfer/capture thing. I'm trying to transfer some shots I made using the firewire connection from my Canon ZR40. Of the short captures I've done (a few minutes max), on average every few seconds there's an audible scratch or pop, along with a screwed up picture. I've attached a screenshot so you can see what I mean.

I've had the same experience with several editing/capture programs (MovieXone 4, Vegas Video 3, Ulead Video Studio 5.) My tapes are NTSC 720x480, 29.97 fps. When I play the tapes and view them either on a TV, the LCD, or the viewfinder, things are fine. Sometimes the capture software will say a frame or two was dropped. When the capture software allows it, I've tried turning off the simultaneous preview feature.

My hardware is a Celeron 900, 512MB RAM, IBM 75GXP, and Koutech firewire card. OS is Windows 2000. The capture is being saved to the same drive as the OS (it's the only one I have) though to a different partition. There's around 10GB free on the capture partition.

I'd appreciate some suggestions.

thanks

john
  • Nielchiano
    • Aug 2002

I'm not an DV expert, but I think I might help you just a little:

the screenshot seems to have some MPEG trouble: parts are fine (I count 5 (big) blocks wich are OK). Some parts contain the right image but at the wrong spot (most other blocks) and some (small) blocks are green-ish.

I saw a look-a-like problem with a DV camera I borrowed for our school-trip to Barcelona. The problem there was that the tape (miniDV) itself was not clean... someone (and I know who, but that doesn't matter here) wondered what a DV tape looked like and grabes it with his "dirty" hand... After some cleaning it played back fine. (you might try it, clean the part of the tape where the dropping occures)