X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • PohPoh
    • Nov 2002

VHS to DIVX Capture Help!

Hi All,

I am new to this DIVX stuff but I have a major project on my hands.. I have about 100 cartoon episodes I want to get onto DIVX. the VHS tapes of these I have are only mine for a few weeks, so I must get these captured.. I have a Pentium 4 2.4 GHX with 512k DDR Ram and a WIN TV PCI card.

Things have been going somewhat smoothly, but I have hit a few snags and I am worried..

I am using Virtual Dub to capture these.. and the DIVX 4 Codecs..
    I have been capturing these in 640 x 480 size and a 4000 KBS..

Anyways here are the problems.. First sometimes during capture I am getting dropped frames.. a few is ok because I read that VDub needs to keep itself in sync with the audio card.

However sometimes I get alot of dropped frames, like 60 within 15 minutes! this seems bad.. I went throguh some guides to help the problem with no luck.. Updated drivers and all that.. Anything else I can do?

Maybe the 4000 KBS is overkill for VHS capturing, should I lower it? Keep in mind these are cartoons, but I don't want to lose to much quality and I already have like 20 of these done..

Also the files are huge even when compressed correctly.. like 660 Megs.. One episode per disc, but I liek that because I'd rather be safe than sorry ont he quality..

And finally on some of the tapes during playback I get a bit of jitter video (during Capture Preview) anyways to fix this? I don't think its the VCR causing that.. regardles I haven't captured any with the jjitteriness.. I'll burn that bridge when I get to it..

I know alot of these are VDUB questions, but I assume many of you use this program for capturingand editing DIVX..
    Well anyways I got a ton of questiona nd even a little bit of help would be cool..

To Anyone that can help..
    Thanks in Advance..
  • setarip
    Retired
    • Dec 2001