Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jaw_1973
    • Jan 2003

Help me with Virtual Memory please

Could someone please tell me what to do, I was putting a movie on a CD and after a long wait a message came up to say I had run out of Virtual Memory, What do I need to do?
  • Enchanter
    Old member
    • Feb 2002

As long as the computer does not crash or act funny, leave it alone. Windows wil automatically resize the Virtual memory pool to accomodate the impending demand.

Comment

• jaw_1973
      • Jan 2003

Virtual Memory

Thanks, but it stops and also tells me to insert valid media, or something like that

Comment

• Enchanter
        Old member
        • Feb 2002

How much free space do you have on the partition where your burner program stores its temporary cache (usually the same partition where the program is installed).

Comment

• jaw_1973
          • Jan 2003

Virtual Memory

How do I find that out?
          I am new to all this, not very clued up on PC

Comment

• Enchanter
            Old member
            • Feb 2002

Assuming your burner program is located on the C drive, how much free space is there on the partition? (Open My Computer and left-click once on the C Drive icon).

Comment

• jaw_1973
              • Jan 2003

Virtual Memory

When i left click on the C:drive it says 18.7GB

Comment

• Enchanter
                Old member
                • Feb 2002

Let's increase the Virtual Memory size manually then.

Assuming you are running WinXP, go to Control Panel -> System -> Advanced Tab -> Performance (Settings) -> Advanced Tab -> Virtual Memory -> Change (Try saying that in one breath ).