X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • najam
    • Oct 2003

please help me

hello all,
    I know this is a very basic question but i don't know its answer. I am a student i want to make a project and want to use divx format in it. I also want to use other popular algorithms.
    Please Please tell me from whrere to start with.
    I shall be very thankfull to all who will reply my query.
    Thanks again.
  • Enchanter
    Old member
    • Feb 2002

Reading the many available guides found on this site will be a good beginning ...

p.s. Perhaps you could elaborate further on what EXACTLY you are trying to achieve so we can better guide you?

Comment

• najam
      • Oct 2003

Thanks for your consideration,
      I want to make a multimedia video player. I don't have any clue regarding it. I want to make it in visual c++ 6.0. i want to use modern algorithms like divx in it.
      Please guide me

Comment

• Enchanter
        Old member
        • Feb 2002

"multimedia video player"

As in a stand-alone box that accepts inputs either from CD and DVD, and is capable of output to TV? Or would a simple PC capable of playing video files and connected to the TV do?

Comment

• najam
          • Oct 2003

Thanks!

I want to make a media player on stand alone pc. I will wait for your reply.

Comment

• Enchanter
            Old member
            • Feb 2002

If all you are interested in are DivX (and other video formats) playback capability with support for TV-out, that would be one very simple request.

Simply get a reasonably powerful PC (1 GHz CPU with at least 256MB RAM) and pair it with any video card capable of TV-output. The majority of cards sport TV-out ports as standard nowadays, even the budget models; and you don't need to get any powerful card unless you intend to play games on the 'media box'.