Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • dahammer
    • Mar 2004

please help! AVI won't play

I recently downloaded the second half to an AVI movie file from a friend's ftp server. It's around 715 mb. Whenever I try to load the file using a player (Windows Media, WinDVD 4, Quicktime, etc.) It says:
    "Windows Media Player cannot play the file. The file is either corrupt or the Player does not support the format you are trying to play."
    Now I looked into it and found out about video codecs (I'm new to all of this). So, since the complete file name is:
    "TLF-VIDEO-12.02.03.Warriors.of.the.Wind.1984.DVDRip.XViD.iNT-TLF-CD2" I downloaded a Xvid codec. That didn't work. I also tried to load the file using my mplayer32, but it wouldn't play it either. So I tried fixing the file. I downloaded several programs, and got one to actually perform the fix operation, which was "All Media Fixer". It "fixed" it for about 30 minutes and I still have the same problem when trying to play it.
    There also some odd problems: The first half of the movie, which is a different file that I got from the same person, works fine. It's around the same size, and the full name is:
    "TLF-VIDEO-12.02.03.Warriors.of.the.Wind.1984.DVDRip.XViD.iNT-TLF-CD1.avi" When I downloaded this from him, the only thing I did different was I downloaded it from him using Overnet, a Peer-to-Peer program, not his FTP server. This file works perfectly. The one I downloaded via his FTP server is the one I'm having problems with, yet he claims it works fine for him. One of my guesses is that it messed up somehow when downloading it, because The connection stopped several times, and I had to tell it to resume. But I don't know if that would do anything to the file or not, because I DID get the whole file. Or maybe there's something that the computer does to the file differently with different programs right after it's done downloading.