advice for microscope camera?

can anyone here help shed light on issues
    regarding and manufacturers of cameras designed to couple to
    microscopes? Or devices designed to couple a camcorder to a
    microscope?

I have some experience with an older, analog camera on a goose-neck
    that would output S-Video and made pretty good images from a
    microscope. I have been researching these, and most new offerings are
    digital, but none of the manufacturers seem familiar.

I'm researching this for a friend who wants a $200-$300 solution.
    I'm thinking that it might be better to spend the $$ on a mechanical
    and optical device that would allow her to use her XL-1 to do the
    imaging.

Anyone out there have experience with these or insights into the
    manufacturers or products?
  • RFBurns
    To Infinity And Byond
    • May 2006

Hi!

Micro (google search) has some small CCD cameras that are very sensitive, and have high resolution enough for this kind of work. They range in price from 100.00 on up and are easily configurable to mount in special applications like your describing. Though they are not actually designed for microscope imaging, a few of my engineering friends have used them on telescopes, binoculars and other applications. One used these little CCD cameras on their rifle scope, and mounting the rifle onto a rotational pod that allowed him to remotely control the rifle's aiming and fireing.

Last edited by RFBurns; 24 Aug 2006, 03:05 AM.

Here..I will fix it!

Sony Digital Video and Still camera CCD imager service

MCM Video Stabalizer

Comment

• volfann
      Digital Video Enthusiast
      Digital Video Enthusiast
      • Jun 2006

Originally Posted by RFBurns
      One used these little CCD cameras on their rifle scope, and mounting the rifle onto a rotational pod that allowed him to remotely control the rifle's aiming and fireing.

That's kind of scarey. Avid deer hunter??
      sigpic

Rent This Space

Comment

• RFBurns