I'm new to DivX encoding, and have read a few guides,
    but they seem to be aimed more at ease of use of programs
    rather than quality of the final DivX.

I have heard the output of FlaskMPEG and other 'all-in-one's'
    isn't too great.

Questions:

1. Could an experienced DVD ripper please tell me what they use
    to rip and encode? I don't care for ease of use, if a program will
    provide higher quality, then I'll take the time to learn it.

2. Is variable bitrate always the best way to go? (nevermind not
    being able to determine file size)

3. I read somewhere that you should always encode with Low
    Motion, and that at higher bitrates (1000+, which I intend to use
    anyway) , it's always the best anyway. Is this correct?

4. Any other tips, warnings, info?

Thanks for any replies,
    Prizm
  • Fruitmaker
    • Nov 2001

HI...

so... if your looking 4 good quality rips you should try this way:

1. I use mpeg2avi. This is a little dos-command-tool which is really ugly to use. But there is a graphical user interface (gui) available, which makes it more comfortable. Its pretty fast and really gives u good quality and some extra goodies
    for encoding you should make 2 cd rips. and also use the newest Codec DivX 4.02 and choose here the "2-pass mode". This will give you best quality (read more about it @ digital-digest guides). If your really a lucky dude, you keep the 720x480 which is on every DVD. so you can have a even better picture on Monitor or on Videobeamer.

2. 4 sound i recommend you to keep the original sound, which is usual DolbyDigital. if you wanna keep it, just dont encode audio with the avi. Setup audio not to "mp3", leave it "pcm uncompressed" if you like to use flask. Or.. the easier way: get DVD-Decrypter... it extracts the sound file (.ac3) directly from the vobs.

3. 4 Putting sound and video together.. use nandub .

after all that you will have a perfect 2CD rip.

have fun.