Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jer
    • Sep 2003

codecs issues!

I was wondering if someone could help me! I joined here because everyone seems to be really helpful to others...cool. Anyway, here is my issue; I installed tsunami 3.9.9 and it worked great for 1 day, then nothing would play in wmp9! I did some checking and found that sometimes tsunami doesn't work in wmp9, so I uninstalled it and it works like it used to...which is to say that I still am faced with the same problem I had before tsunami. Some video files work and some don't! Message says "error downloading codec". Then I did some more checking and found that microsoft (I refuse to capitalize it!) has codecs avail for 8.0

Anyway, I am very confused (ecspecially since I am new to the whole computer experiece) and have little knowledge about these things. I am however willing to take critisism and I am willing to learn...all responses are certainly appreaciated! Thanks
  • Enchanter
    Old member
    • Feb 2002

What sort of files are you trying to play with WMP? (i.e. What extensions do the files have? AVI? MPG? ASF?)

p.s. Try playing them in the older and more reliable WMP 6.4 (Run mplayer2.exe from the Run Command).

Comment

• UncasMS
      Super Moderator
      • Nov 2001

i use 3.9.9 for ages only i dont use any wmp version higher than 6.4

use ffdshows latest alpha as playbackfilter and maybe even crappy wmp7/8/9 will work or think about using decent players like wmp 64, bsplayer, zoomplayer or media player classic

Comment

• jer
        • Sep 2003

I think I found what you're asking about files?