X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Kiwi†Bird
    • Jun 2004

DV Capture

Hi'a everyone...

Ok, I hope this is the right place to post my questions...

I just bought a Sony miniDV camcorder. The megapixel for still pictures is around 1.0. I know this isn't great, but it didn't worry me as I already have a 3.2 megapixel digicam. What I didn't realise though, is that it is also the resolution for the video's it records. Now, I'm a total beginner at dv movie making/editing...so bare with me. When I hook the dv camcorder up to the televsion and play the tape direct throught the camcorder onto the tele, the image is crisp as anything. But then, if I try to capture from the 8mm tape, to my hard drive, the quality sucks like a vacuum cleaner!! I love the camera, but it is useless to me if it's not going to give me a good, clear image. So unless I can figure something out, I'm gonna return it.

I did discover that the broadcasting resolution rate on our tv's here is at least 3.2mp. So with my digicamcorder recording at around 1.0mp, obviously it's nearly only a quarter of what we watch on tele.....which means a quarter of the visual quality. I did wonder if I could get a recordable DVD player, and play the tape directly onto the Tele, through the camcorder, and use the DVD recordable to record it to DVD. But someone I asked said something about needing a RCA connection (whatever that is) and that they don't have that.

What advice do you have for me? I'm totally stumped.

Regards, Michaela
    And remember, if you're going through hell........................keep going!!!
  • Floppy

Hello

DV capture R US...

Well RCA are know as Phono Leads the white(sometimes black)/red/yellow.
    White/red is audio Yellow is video but it is just a color coded cable they are all the same...

If U wanna capture the video on the DV camera to the PC what U really need is a Firewire cable, that will connect your DV to PC via a ultrafast port.