Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • luciano
    • Mar 2002

Can I edit VOB files???

I'd like to make a compilation with the best scenes of my DVDs and record it on my Hard Disk (60 giga). I made the back up of DVDs with Smart Ripper and my question is:

Is it possible to edit VOB files and cut only the part that I need?

Thank you very much for your answers!

Ciao! Luciano.
  • Nielchiano
    • Aug 2002

In which format would you like to store it? Uncompressed AVI???? MPEG 1? 2? 4? DivX?

I don't see any advantage in keeping the files in VOB format, since most soft doen't support VOBs.
    We were all newbies once... and we all needed some help once, so lets once help the newbies.

Comment

• luciano
      • Mar 2002

Nielchiano,

I'd like to store it with the same audio and video quality of the original.

I'm not an expert, so I don't know the differences between VOBAvi, mpeg...

Thanks for your answer!

Luciano.

Comment

• Nielchiano
        • Aug 2002

Hmm, your compilation. what form will it be in? One long video with all scened one after the other?
        Or 276 (or whatever) seperate video files?

And how would you like to get to them? just open the file you want in media-player? or use a DVD-like structure to make a GigaDVD on your HDD?

And how "original" should the scenes be? Only video+audio? or also subtitles? and secondary (or more) audio-streams (the commentary-like-stuff)?
        We were all newbies once... and we all needed some help once, so lets once help the newbies.

Comment

• luciano
          • Mar 2002

Nielchiano,

thanks a lot for your interest! Hereunder are my answers:

I'd prefer 276 (...) separate video files and use a DVD-like structure (e.g. every scene is a chapter of the GigaDVD).
          The original should be only audio+video (of the same quality of the original) and no secondary language, subtitles or extra stuff.

Thanks, waiting for your help!
          Ciao! Luciano.

Comment

• Nielchiano
            • Aug 2002