Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • joeyldc
    • Aug 2003

I'm new

Hi, I recently purchased a Dell computer with a DVD burner. I now need to purchase DVD burning/copying software. Since I am very new to the realm of DVD burning, could anyone give me any advice? I would like to make copies of DVDs that I own, as well as convert mpegs into files that can be viewed from a DVD player. Any help at all would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much, Joel
  • chickeneater
    Digital Video Expert
    Digital Video Expert
    • Apr 2002

dvdshrink... there is a forum here, check it out
    FFDShow filters
    Guliverkli's Media Player Classic

Comment

• MPS
      Digital Video Enthusiast
      Digital Video Enthusiast
      • Mar 2003

and techno's site of course, on dvdshrink: dvdshrink.info

Comment

• setarip
        Retired
        • Dec 2001

To joeyldc

"convert mpegs into files that can be viewed from a DVD player"

One set of procedures (other posters may/probably will suggest alternative methods) would be:

1) Use "TMPGEnc" to convert the MPEG to compliant MPEG2-for-DVD format - Use "TMPGEnc's" DVD wizard/template to accomplish this

2) Use "TMPGEnc DVD Author" v.1.5.11.37 (a different program than "TMPGEnc) to easily create the required additional DVD files and structure (and chapters and a menu, if you wish)

**If the combined filesize of the DVD "package" written to your hard drive is greater than 4.37Gb, use DVD Shrink (or similar) to compress

If your O/S is either Win2000 or WinXP, TMPGEnc DVD Author can also burn your DVD. Otherwise, use NERO to burn in "DVD-Video" mode
        (As an alternative to "TMPGEnc DVD Author", you could use "DVDLab")

Let us know of your success ;>}

Comment

• littlemouse
          Setaeriper
          • Aug 2003

To Joe

Hello joeyldc,
          1. I think the best software for copying protected DVD movies is DVD Shrink. If you want to know more about it, visit this site: