Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • hht55555
    • Apr 2004

Few questions from a newbie who need guidance

I'm a newbie to this forum & would like some advices.
    I've got a few avi, mpg, divx, xvid,..etc.. movie files that I would like to burn to DVDs so I can play on DVD players. (Also save room in hard drives). Here are some info that I pick up here & there, but would like some verifications from you - experience members and experts on this topic..lol..

1/ Do I need to convert those movies files to MPEG2 first? From what I read, it seems TMPGENC Plus is one of the popular program to do this task. Is this the best program I shoud use, or any better ones you can suggest?

2/ Some post indicates that audio stream of movie files need to be worked then combine before burn to DVD? Please explain. What software do I need for this task? VOBedit, IfoEdit??

3/ Most of my movie files split into 2 or 3 parts (about 700 MB each). How can I combine them continuously all in one? Again what do I need & how to make it work?

4/ Does TMPGENC DVDAuthor use for put a menu in DVD for easy to navigate when playback?

If you have time to spare, please explain step by step that I need to do.

Thanks in advance for your time to put up with this and aprreciated all of your responds, help.

Regards
  • setarip
    Retired
    • Dec 2001

One set of procedures (other posters may/probably will suggest alternative methods) would be:

1) Use "TMPGEnc" (or "TMPGEncPlus") to convert the .AVI (DivX-compressed or otherwise) to compliant MPEG2-for-DVD format - Use "TMPGEnc's" DVD wizard/template to accomplish this

2) Use "TMPGEnc DVD Author" (a different program than "TMPGEnc") to easily create the required additional DVD files and structure (and chapters and a menu, if you wish)

**If the combined filesize of the DVD "package" written to your hard drive is greater than 4.37Gb, use DVD Shrink (or similar) to compress