Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Froggie47
    • Aug 2004

Still confused about converting vhs to dvd

I am a complete and utter novice, and have been reading so many articles that instead of gaining knowledge, I am more confused than when I started.
    I simply want to convert some VHS films (PAL) to DVD (or vcd).
    I have a DAC-100 coming soon and have looked at Scenalyzer (ScLive). It seem quite daunting however and I can't find any tutorials. To someone with knowledge, I'm sure it is quite simple.

Basically I don't know if I have to have more than this (or a similar) program to convert. Everywhere I read seems to have different opinions, and many seem to regard half a dozen programs as standard.

What I really want is a foolproof (!) single program to do just what I want (not too interested in editing as that can come later when I'm more familiar with it). Is there such a beast?
  • megamachine
    Video Fiddler
    • Mar 2003

Most capture devices come with the software you need to capture your VHS video and then encode and author that to a DVD. I assume the DAC-100 is a capture device you`ve ordered, so just wait and see what comes with it, and experiment a little, then write back and let us know how it`s going. We can help you better once we know more.

Comment

• Froggie47
      • Aug 2004

Thanks megamachine - will do.

Comment

• Froggie47
        • Aug 2004

Received trhe DAC-100 and have been trying it out. It comes with no software at all so I tried SCLive. Whilst this appeared ok (except for the watermark which would disappear if I purchased) there's really nothing to say what settings are recommended. Ok, I realise most of you are experts, but I'm not, and the thought of never ending tests and experiments (and of course endless 'coasters' )simply puts me off. Perhaps I can't see the wood for the trees. At the end of the day, all I want is to transfer VHS to CD or DVD.

Comment

• megamachine
          Video Fiddler
          • Mar 2003