Problems with AVI file in both VirtualDub and TMPGEnc, please help!

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Tenshi_Cheonsa
    • Jan 2003

Problems with AVI file in both VirtualDub and TMPGEnc, please help!

Hello all,
    I'm a newbie but I'm used to converting AVI/DivX to VCD (MPEG-1) format, but now I have a problem with an avi file, in both TMPGEnc and VirtualDub. For some reason neither programs like opening this file, but Windows Media Player opens the file and it plays perfectly. Here are the details from properties if it should help in my explanation or with suggestions by anyone:

Audio Format: DivX WMA Audio V2, 64 kbps, 44 kHz, stereo (for audio/video)

Video Format: 320 x 240, 74975 Frames, 25.000 Frames/Sec, 65 KB/Sec, Unknown Format

With VirtualDub, before I found out my version wouldn't take WMA files out to convert to WAV, I tried to open the video with VirtualDub and it said:

"Couldn't locate decompressor for format "DX50" unknown. VirtualDub requires a Video for Windows (VFW) compatible codec to decompress video. DirectShow codecs, such as those used by Windows Media Player, are not suitable".

So for this file, I used another program to get the audio file out and convert it to WAV. Now I want to use TMPGEnc to make it MPEG-1 for VCD. So, I went into TMPGEnc and got ready to do this. I selected browse for video, and selected this avi file, but........this is the message I get:

File "D:\Meteor Garden 2 - Episode 01.avi" can not open or unsupported.