Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • chriller
    • Mar 2002

Newbie desperatly seeking help....

I'm completely new to working with VCD's (and movie clips in general) - and by the way: I'm also completely new to entering af forum...

My problem is this:
    I want to burn a .mpeg1-video file on to a VCD (using Nero), but the result is soooo bad... the audio is about ½ sec. behind the movie, and the resolution are really unwatchable when I watch it with my DVD-player.

Please, does anyone know how I can improve that?

The original movie is in .avi format - and I've encoded it using TMPGEnc. And the original movie has a resolution of 320x240.

I would really apreciate your help...
  • setarip
    Retired
    • Dec 2001

"The original movie is in .avi format - and I've encoded it using TMPGEnc"

1) Did you use TMPGEnc to encode it as "plain vanilla" MPEG-1 or did you (properly) change the mode to MPEG1-VideoCD?

2) Proper resolution settings for MPEG1-VideoCD are either 352x240 (NTSC) or 352x288(PAL).

3) Was the audio in proper sychronization with the video on the .AVI?
    Last edited by setarip; 2 Apr 2002, 08:34 AM.

Comment

• chriller
      • Mar 2002

thanx for your reply...

1) I did change the setting in TMPGEng to .mpeg1-video
      2) I set the resolution to 352x288
      3) On the original .avi-file the audio is also a bit behing, but it gets worse when I encode it...

Could it be that the resolution in the original .avi-file is simply to bad (320x240)? and can I in anyway change it to the better?

Comment

• setarip
        Retired
        • Dec 2001

" On the original .avi-file the audio is also a bit behind"

I would strongly suggest that you attempt to get the .AVI synchronized before converting it to MPEG1-VideoCD format. One possible way to do this is by:

loading the .AVI into VirtualDub

Set both "Video" and "Audio" to "Direct Stream Copying"

Under the "Audio" dropdown menu, select "Interleaving"