Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • vik_pa
    • Jul 2003

Conversion using TMPGEnc

Hi people. I wish to convert my divx file to svcd using TMPGEnc. From the opening window of the project wizard. there is a drop-down list. There is one option that states 35min/650MB. Thats crazy!!!! That will use up too many cd's. There is another option that states 85min(or 110min)/650MB (incompatible). What does the incompatible mean??? I would much rather have 110 mins of film on 1 cd, but will it be viewable on dvd players???
    And whats the difference between cbr and vbr. In order to have a vbr file I need to do this 2 pass process right???
    I am a newbie so please be patient with me!!!!
  • setarip
    Retired
    • Dec 2001

"What does the incompatible mean???"

It means you'll be creating an SVCD that doesn't conform with the stated parameters of a "compliant" SVCD. It may, however, very well playback properly on many (newer) standalone DVD players.

The easiest thing to do is experiment and burn one - and see if it plays back properly on your standalone DVD player...

Comment

• AMD2400
      • Jul 2003

That guide will help you out on how to make one movie fit onto one cd-r.

Might want to also do this in TMPGenc - in TMPGenc go to options, environmental settings, VFAPI plugins, and up the priority on direct show multimedia file reader to 2 not -2. To do this right click on show multimedia file reader and select higher priority until it goes up to 2. <----Quoted from setarip

After I did what he suggested, alot of my problems went away and I could also open and load up more of my movie files and alot of the "incompatible" went away

cbr = constant bit rate
      vbr = variable bit rate

Comment

• crazy_as_fcuk
        • Aug 2003

Hi ppl

Ive got a problem multiplexing/de-multiplexing my .avi file using TMPGenc. The .avi codec is MS MPEG4 v3 and is not compatible with TMPGenc!!! Can any1 direct me to a codec which will allow me to manipulate this format?