Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • chaoticjames
    • Apr 2002

2-pass and 1-pass I don't understand!

Hi. I'm a newbie. I know how to convert, however my DIVX files that i convert from DVD formatt are rather large sometimes.

I use FlaskMPEG .6
    I always use DIVX 5.0 Pro Codec
    I don't know how to fix it.

1st. For some reason, when I rip to audio formatt of mpeg-3layer, the sound doesn't come out. Does anyone know why?

2nd. What is 2-pass 2nd pass and 2-pass 1st pass?

I'm trying to understand the tutorial, but it doesn't make sense to me?
    A complete guide for DVD to DivX and Xvid conversion, now featuring instructions for Xvid encoding (page 2 of 5)

Go to Instruction #6-13.

line9:"start the first-pass conversion..."
    Then in line15: "... start the second-pass conversion."

What do they want us to do exactly?

Does this actually do something?
    I don't understand. Because when i perform the 2nd pass, all it does it deletes the 1st pass, overwriting it. Therefore, it deletes it permanetely, as if it were never made. Is this a waste of time?

Is this actually helping the process?

Please help. Any ideas?

[MSD]Chaoticjames
  • techno
    Digital Video Master
    Digital Video Master
    • Nov 2001

1st pass does not produce as good quality as 2pass. The 2pass produces better quality and also is more size predictable.

Try re-installing the MP3 codec (radium, I never has any probs with it).

Follow the DVD ripping guides there, it is simple and straight forward, use DIVX 3.11alpha. This is because it is good quality, a touch faster sometimes, low file size without loss of quality.

Techno

Comment

• Enchanter
      Old member
      • Feb 2002

I would suggest that you process the audio separately from the video, or a least, process the audio in PCM .WAV format (No compression). This will save you some headache later on from audio-related problems.