Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bobh
    • Jan 2003

editing a DVD

I am new to video editing. One of the reasons for me to do it was because my wife is putting her Mother's 8mm film on DVD. And now she wants to edit it.

My question is how can I 'edit' a DVD without loss of quality? I have a PC, DVD burner, and Pinnacle.

Below is what I have done so far.

The DVD does not have any security protection. I can easily see all the files on it (.vob and so on). I tried to import it into my editor of choice, Pinnacle, but it would not take it. After poking around, I tried to use DVD2AVI to convert to AVI. Pinnale will take AVI.

DVD2AVI could see the disk, and converted the video. I did not know what codec to use, so I picked one. The video looks fine in Pinnacle, but the display is a thumbnail so I can't really tell.

I made a project for a few minutes of video, and burned a DVD. When I play it, the quality is degraded. I get little squares of the same color, particularly in the dark sections. (There are lots of dark sections in this 70 year old film!

So, can someone tell me how to import this to Pinnacle (or something else) so that I can chop out the bad sections and burn a new DVD whithout loosing quality?

Thank you in advance.
  • setarip
    Retired
    • Dec 2001

You can use Chopper.exe (or ChopperXP) to directly visually edit the .VOB files found on a DVD...

Comment

• bobh
      • Jan 2003

Thank you for the rapid reply.

But ...

Isn't there more to it that that? If I chop up the .vob's, aren't the .ifo (and whatever other control files that there are) messed up? chopperxp seems to just write a new .vob file.

Comment

• setarip
        Retired
        • Dec 2001

In light of the fact that you stated that you had "made a project... and burned a DVD", I assumed you already had the requisite knowledge. Be that as it may, after you've accomplished your editing with Chopper, you'll have to: