X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • SushiMaan44
    • Mar 2003

video flickers;choppy playback

Hi,

I aplogize in advance if someone has already posted this question.

I'm relatively new to xvid. I have some files that are encoded in xvid format with 5.1 AC3 audio, and when I try playing the file with bsplayer (or any player for that matter), the video playback is choppy, with a kind of flickering playback, reminiscent of a strobe light. I've tried both koepi's and Nic's binaries, but i seem to get the same problem regardless of whose binary i use. Any suggestions?

I have a Sony VAIO RX 580 with an Nvidia Riva TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro, 1.79 GHZ and 512 MB RAM, if that helps.

On a side note, when I use FDDshow in conjunction with BS player, i get the same flickering effect with divx files if FDDshow is assigned to Divx 3/4/5 files. Playback for divx files is restored if i don't have FDDshow assigned to the Divx codecs. What's the deal with that?

I'd greatly appreciate anyone's help!
  • Batman
    Lord of Digital Video
    Lord of Digital Video
    • Jan 2002

Using the FFDSHOW back filter for xvid playback does not solve your problem?

Have you tried changing the fourcc code of the xvid file to dx50?

Comment

• SushiMaan44
      • Mar 2003

where and how do i do that? <------ newbie

Comment

• Batman
        Lord of Digital Video
        Lord of Digital Video
        • Jan 2002

For detailed instructions search this forum:

I don' t know is this will work (first back up the file) and using avi4cc changer change the fourcc codec description/used to dx50 or divx.

Comment

• SushiMaan44
          • Mar 2003

"avi4cc changer change the fourcc codec description/used to dx50 or divx" <----- Would I use virtual dub to do this, and should i resave the file?

Comment

• Enchanter
            Old member
            • Feb 2002

Originally posted by SushiMaan44