Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • zio_magica
    • Jul 2003

help me pls...

hi all, im a newbie to these stuff, so i'm wondering if anyone here could give me some advice...

i've been trying to play some anime files for some time using DivX player or RealPlayer. when using DivX some movies are covered up by static images while the sound is okay. when i used RealPlayer to play the same file, everything works all right.

recently, many anime files were converted to Xvid and so i downloaded some Xvid codecs to my comp, but i still couldn't play the files. i downloaded koepi's unstable and stable binaries and nic's binaries and it still doesnt work properly, so i tried updating my graphics card driver.

somewhere along the way of messing ard with all these, i found that i was running into new problems.

1) movie files could play but the image was severely jumpy (ie it stops moving every few seconds and skips ahead)

2) the WORST thing is that many of my movies now run ok, but the image is overlayed by some symbols laid out all over in a checkered pattern. this affects even my Warcraft3 movie so i am totally in a mess now.

pls, could anyone who has run into such problems before give me some advice? any and all help is much appreciated, thx!
  • WildmanJoe
    • Jan 2003

Sounds like a graphics card problem cos I think I experienced something similar before with strange runes splattered all across the screen

Try the following (Test the movie again after each step):

Uninstall your 'new' drivers and reinstall the 'old' ones.

Uninstall both Xvid codecs, download ffdshow:

and use it to play Xvid, DivX, etc.

Reinstall DirectX 9.0

(Strongly recommended) GET RID of RealPlayer, you don't need it anymore to view Real files. Real alternative:

Try Media Player Classic, BSPlayer or MV2 Player which are all available at this forum under Software.

Comment

• zio_magica
      • Jul 2003

ok i uninstalled the new video driver, and also the xvid codec