Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • skiier3_9
    • Oct 2004

xvid playback = choppy...please help

I know that I'm a newbie to this forum, but i need your help. I'm trying to play xvid movies on a

2400+ Sempron (1.67 GHz 333 FSB)
    256 MB RAM
    Onboard Video (32 megs shared)
    Windows 2003 Enterprise Edition

Player(s):
    Media player classic
    winamp (3 and/or 5)
    media player 9

Every xvid movie that i play is choppy, when using ffdshow it says the frame rate is around 21 fps (although it jumps to 30 something about 1x per second). I have tried the latest xvid codec, the ffdshow codec, k-lite mega codec pack. In media player classic, it says that its using the correct codec (either xvid or with ffdshow the mpeg4 codec) I have tried a variety of players and they all have the same problem. The problem is consisten with all xvid movies on this machine - on a similar machine they play smooth as silk.

TIA for your help, I have been very frustrated with this problem.
    Last edited by skiier3_9; 18 Oct 2004, 03:32 AM.
  • ziadost
    Super Moderator
    • Mar 2004

does the same thing happen with all mpeg-4 movies (eg. divx)?
    "What were the things in Gremlins called?" - Karl Pilkington

Comment

• Soulhunter
      • Mar 2004

Maybe its not a prob with the audio codec and not the video codec...

Have all files you've tested the same audio format ???

Bye

Member of E.V.I.L. Corp. 2003 ® - Website in progress...

Comment

• skiier3_9
        • Oct 2004

Originally posted by ziadost
        does the same thing happen with all mpeg-4 movies (eg. divx)?
        Yes, i tried out a few divx movies and they all have choppy playback.

The audio codecs are different for the movies that i have tested. Some have been mp3 (lame codec) and others were AC3.

The only thing that I can think of is the operating system. I tried increasing the priority on mplayer - to no avail. Perhaps its a Win 2003 issue.

Thanks!