Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Sgaileach1
    • Aug 2005

Resolution issues with VirtualDubMod 1.5.1 and DivX 6

Hi everyone. I just registered here so this is my first post, though I have been using this site for many years now.

I recently acquired the DivX Pro 6 creation pack, and I am currently attempting to use it in conjunction with DGIndex 1.4.1 b4 and VirtualDubMod 1.5.10 to compress an AVI of an anime I have worked out an extensive subscript translation for.

I ripped the main angle VOB from the DVD (which I own) without problems, and used DGIndex to create a project file and demux the video and audio to assure I don’t end up with frame drift during the encoding process.

Next I opened the demuxed .m2v in VirtualDubMod and added the .ac3 audio as a stream. Everything worked fine up to this point. Next however is where the glitches begin.

Looking at the input and output windows in VirtualDubMod, the resolution just seemed wrong. Trying to check file information from the file menu results in a crash every time, which I figured must just be a bug in this version of VDub, however it appears the input resolution of 720x480 is being interpreted somehow as being 720x540.

Next I attempted to compress using the new DivX 6 to verify this, and checking the file properties in Media Player Classic it is indeed showing a resolution of 720x540 for the output. The strange thing is, I actually tried telling the Divx codec to manually resize to 720x480 using bicubic resampling, as well as experimenting with just about every other available option, and it still ends up vertically stretched one way or the other. Most times it stretches the horizontal to fit a larger resolution of 540, and sometimes it actually sizes the video itself down horizontally to 400 and inserts black space to accommodate that oversized 540 resolution, depending on whether I force a resize or set a width and tell it to keep the aspect.