Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • SOSANT
    • Mar 2002

Extreme Lag problem

ok, I am new with divx, so maybe someone can help me out here. I have a what I believe to be a divx encoded avi of a Beautiful Mind, anyway, When I play it with windows media player 6.4 its really laggy, I was reading on divx-digest, that i have to encode my wmp 6.4 with divx, so I installed Divx Alpha, and it said to go to properties while the movie is playing after I installed, and I went to it, and it doesn't say MPEG4 or Divx... is it lagging really bad because I installed it wrong, or have no idea what I am doing. I have win2000, help would greatly appreciated. thanks
  • Enchanter
    Old member
    • Feb 2002

Open video in WMP6.4. Go to File -> Properties -> Advanced. There you will find a window box containing all the filters in use. Most probably you will find a filter named 'DivX MPEG-4 DVD Video COmpressor' (Otherwise, it could be named 'DivX Codec'). Double-click on the filter.

A new dialog box will come out and you should see a slider there. Drag the slider all the way to the left (Zero position). Press OK until you get back to the main WMP screen. Try playing the movie now and see if there is any improvement. Lowering your desktop colour depth to 16-bit/256 colour and screen resolution to 800x600/640x480 should help too.

Just a thought. What is your CPU speed?

Comment

• SOSANT
      • Mar 2002

tryed that